Portugal Allemagne

PORTUGAL and Real Madrid great Cristiano Ronaldo won his third Ballon d’Or today at the FIFA ceremony in Zurich.

The 29-year-old - who played a key role in Real Madrid’s charge to a 10th Champions League trophy - beat eternal rival and four-time winner Lionel Messi of Barcelona and Germany’s World Cup winning goalkeeper Manuel Neuer.

Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo (R) reacts to his Ballon d’Or win, next to French legend Thierry Henry.Source: AFP

Ronaldo was the star of the night in which Real teammate James Rodriguez won the goal of the year award and Germany’s Joachim Loew was declared coach of the year.

“I never thought I would win this trophy on three occasions,” Ronaldo said in his victory speech, signalling there would be no letup in his quest for football glory.


“I want to be one of the greatest players of all time and of course this requires a lot of effort,” added the Portuguese striker who also won the award in 2013 and in 2008.

Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal and Real Madrid and Nadine Kessler of Germany and VfL Wolfsburg pose with their FIFA Ballon d'Or Awards.Source: Getty Images

Ronaldo led Real Madrid to their 10th European Champions League crown in sensational style in 2014, smashing Messi’s record of 15 Champions League goals in a single season with 17 in just 11 appearances.

In the women’s award, German midfielder Nadine Kessler beat Marta of Brazil and United States forward Abby Wambach.

amp-ad height="600" layout="fixed" json='{"targeting":{"categoryExclusions":["Porn","Media"],"area":["sport/football"],"device":["mobile"],"keywords":["73a36c07bfdedab3d5a17272ece48c81"]}}' type="doubleclick" width="350" data-slot="/21780812979/foxsports/story-amp/sport/football" data-loading-strategy="3" i-amphtml-layout="fixed"">>/amp-ad">>amp-ad height="600" layout="fixed" json='{"targeting":{"categoryExclusions":["Porn","Media"],"area":["sport/football"],"device":["desktop"],"keywords":["73a36c07bfdedab3d5a17272ece48c81"]}}' type="doubleclick" width="970" data-slot="/21780812979/foxsports/story-amp/sport/football" data-loading-strategy="3" i-amphtml-layout="fixed"">>/amp-ad">>

Germany’s World Cup winning coach Joachim Loew was named men’s coach of the year, while James Rodriguez won the Puskas prize for goal of the year thanks to his Brazil 2014 stunner for Colombia.

James Rodriguez gives the thumbs up after winning the Puskas prize.Source: AFP


Ballon d’Or: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Real Madrid)

Woman player of the year: Nadine Kessler (GER/Wolfsburg)


Men’s team coach of the year: Joachim Loew (GER/Allemagne)

Women’s team coach of the year: Ralf Kellermann (GER/Wolfsburg)

Puskas prize for best goal: James Rodriguez (COL/Real Madrid)

Fairplay: Brazil

2014 World Cup volunteers Presidents prize: Hiroshi Kagawa (JPN), oldest journalist (89) at 2014 World Cup finals which was the 10th one he had covered.

Team of the year: Manuel Neuer (GER/Bayern Munich); Sergio Ramos (ESP/Real Madrid), Thiago Silva (BRA/Paris SG), David Luiz (BRA/Paris SG), Philipp Lahm (GER/Bayern Munich); Andrés Iniesta (ESP/Barcelona), Toni Kroos (GER/Real Madrid), Ángel Di Maria (ARG/Manchester United); Arjen Robben (NED/Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Real Madrid)

Four-time winner Lionel Messi could not keep Cristiano Ronaldo from the Ballon d’Or this year.Source: AFP
Manuel Neuer was goalkeeper in the 2014 FIFA FIFPro World XI.Source: AFP

Source : https://www.foxsports.com.au/football/ballon-dor-2014-cristiano-ronaldo-wins-worlds-top-player-award-for-third-time-from-messi-neuer/news-story/73a36c07bfdedab3d5a17272ece48c81

Ballon d’Or 2014: Cristiano Ronaldo wins world’s top player award for third time from Messi, Neuer

Source:Fox Sports

Ballon d’Or 2014: Cristiano Ronaldo wins world’s top player award for third time from Messi, Neuer

England vs Germany: Gareth Southgates class of Euro 2020 out to write new history against old foes

Source:Sky Sports

England vs Germany: Gareth Southgates class of Euro 2020 out to write new history against old foes