Geelong Cats

The Geelong Cats are pleased to announce the recommitment of 16 AFL Women's players for the 2022 season.

Geelong captain and All-Australian defender Meghan McDonald and 2021 Best & Fairest winner Amy McDonald, along with vice-captain Jordan Ivey, Becky Webster, Sophie Van de Heuvel, Georgie Rankin and Olivia Barber have all re-signed until the end of 2023.

The experience of Renee Garing, Maddy McMahon and Phoebe McWilliams will return next season, after the trio committed for 2022 alongside Rene Caris, Georgia Clarke, Laura Gardiner, Madisen Maguire, Darcy Moloney and Carly Remmos.

blockquote data-instgrm-captioned data-instgrm-permalink="" data-instgrm-version="13"">
> > View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Geelong Cats Womens (@catswomens)

Former Crow Chloe Scheer and former Demon Chantel Emonson are headed to GMHBA Stadium after joining the club this month’s AFLW Sign & Trade Period.

Denby Taylor has made the decision to take a break from football; the 21-year-old will officially be placed on the inactive list for season six of the AFLW.

Danielle Higgins, Julia Crockett-Grills, Nina Morrison, Millie Brown, Stephanie Williams and Maddy Keryk already held contracts for the 2022 season.

Geelong’s Head of AFLW Brett Johnson said the club was thrilled to confirm the latest re-signings.

“Our people are the heartbeat of our club. It’s fantastic to have this talented group of players commit to the club as we head towards season 2021/22,” Johnson said.

Geelong hold selections 2, 7, 9 and 20 in the upcoming AFLW Draft.

Recommitted Cats:

Olivia Barber (2023)

Jordan Ivey (2023)

Amy McDonald (2023)

Meghan McDonald (2023)

Georgie Rankin (2023)

Sophie Van de Heuvel (2023)

Rebecca Webster (2023)

Rene Caris (2022)

Georgia Clarke (2022)

Laura Gardiner (2022)

Renee Garing (2022)

Madisen Maguire (2022)

Maddy McMahon (2022)

Phoebe McWilliams (2022)

Darcy Moloney (2022)

Carly Remmos (2022)

New Cats:

Chantel Emonson (2023)

Chloe Scheer (2023)

Source :